Early Potatoes in the Ground

I had the 2.5 acre field power harrowed on Monday morning and got straight to work planting the early potatoes.  I opened up a drill using the wheel hoe with a ridger attachment which I also used to cover up the drills.

In the above photo you can see the wheel hoe with the ridger attachment. The other tool is a row marker.

The varieties I planted were Home Guard and Duke of York for 1st earlies and British Queen for 2nd earlies. They were planted 12″ apart in drills 30″ apart. I planted 1000m2 (.25 acre) in total.

2 Responses so far »

  1. 1

    Nicky said,

    I wish I could have a tractor get my garden tilled up and ready to plant! Your ridger sounds good. I have a similar garden cultivator but have not been able to find a ridger for it. Is it hard to push?

    • 2

      blackvillage said,

      Yah it’s very easy to push if the ground is well tilled and free of any large stones. I reckon it’s 3 or 4 times quicker earthing up than it is using a rake.


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

