Killarney Farmer’s Market

Today was my second Friday at the farmer’s market in Killarney. The market is still in it’s infancy, just 6 weeks old, so people are still only beginning to discover it. The Irish Open Golf was on in Killarney this week and rather than increase business there was a marked decrease, probably due to locals staying away from the town centre due to expectations of heavy traffic. There were alot of tourist admiring the produce but I guess you can’t do a whole lot of cooking in a hotel room! I’ll definitely be persisting with it as Killarney is a big town and there is certainly potential. Number one complaint so far is my cabbages are too big, with my more elderly customers feeling that they would struggle to carry it too far or people feeling that it would go to waste. I’ll be bringing along a few less mature heads in the future to accommodate this minority.

1 Response so far »

  1. 1

    Peggy said,

    All of your produce is looking good,I hope Killarney takes off for you once summer is over and the locals can take back their streets! I am afraid I would be one of the small minority who likes small cabbage as I think it will go to waste too, being able to pull it small should clear more ground for planting for you?


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

